koi showing off

KoiShowingOff

koi showing off by brent haddock, hand-colored intaglio-type etching with copper-inlay, 10” x 19.5”, Variable Edition of 5, $330 unframed

 My Inspiration

“Koi Showing Off” is one of my Wasatch River Rock Series in which I explore the journey of moving from the desert southwest to the peaceful paradise of the Heber Valley, where organic looking river rocks reside in abundance. The journey has been a kind of metaphor like becoming a fish out of water. Fish symbols appear often in my work. One of my favorite hobbies is raising koi in the backyard where I love to watch them show off.

My Working Process

After photographing hundreds of rocks in different lighted environments I composed the final image on my Mac using Photoshop. A film positive exposed to light was used to photographically transfer it to a photo sensitive copper plate which was ultimately developed in a mild non-toxic soda ash developer for exactly nine minutes. The plate was then hand inked and wiped for each printing. The print was pulled on damp rag paper when it was subjected to tremendous pressure from my manual etching press. Some of the prints have been hand-colored with watercolor and ultimately embellished with copper foil inlay. ~ brent

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

