kohler’s potrock home

05_kohlerspotrockhome

kohler’s potrock home by katrina madsen berg, 16×20″ oil on canvas, $525 unframed .

The final event of the Plein Air Paradise: the Midway Paint-Out lasts 5 hours. Check in is from 7-8 am. By noon, the paintings must be framed and hung. It is always a whirlwind. The first year, I didn’t even finish my painting. : ) Thank goodness I’ve gotten faster since then!

I plopped down in front of Dale & Joyce Kohler’s charming pot-rock home early Saturday morning. The shadow was crawling across the roof top as I sketched it in…didn’t want to miss that.

Paint-Outs tend to invite so many conversations. I visited with walkers, strollers, a couple cyclists, Julie from Sidetrack Cafe, Sally Hauter…and other curious lookers-on. One wife of a painter even offered me a chair as I neared the end of the painting. So thoughtful. 🙂

The bugs and sun were kind…so were the clouds. The rain fell for a bit, paint smearing enough that I began to set up in the back of the Stratus trunk. It stopped, and started once more, but I managed to finish in time. phew! Quite possibly my favorite from the entire week.  ~katrina

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

