ground cover

GroundCover

ground cover by brent haddock, hand-colored intaglio-type etching, 10.5” x 19.5”, Edition of 1, $350 unframed

My Inspiration

“Ground Cover” is one of my Wasatch River Rock Series in which I explore the simplicity and elegance of naturally discovered composition and textures found in nature. One day while walking along the rock-lined curbs at my work place, I discovered this scene and photographed it using different angles and exposure settings. I find the textures found in these rocks to be great subject matter.

My Working Process

In an effort to keep my etchings as pure a form as possible I make every effort to keep the design strategies simple and uncomplicated. As artists we can easily fall into a trap of incorporating too much noise into our work. This composition was cropped from a much larger photo I took of rocks piled up in a decorative cover up along the sidewalk curbs at my work. I have enhanced the texture of the rocks by adjusting curves and values in Photoshop. A film positive was then exposed to light and developed. Ultimately, the print was enhanced with color when I hand painted the watercolor washes. Only two original prints were ever printed. One already sold to a collector.  ~ brent

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

