path’s end

Path's End

path’s end by marilynn z. nielson, 20 x 24 oil on board, SOLD

All of the time I was painting this picture I was thinking of Shell Sylverstein’s poem, Where the Sidewalk Ends.  His poem tells how children know the special places beyond the sidewalks, where the grownups never go. I was reminded of the places where I used to play as a child, the gully with the swing over the stream and the trees in the orchards.  The path in this painting ends at the large trees and the stream embankment.  What a wonderful place to play—or paint on a warm summer day. ~ marilynn

Comments
One Response to “path’s end”
  1. Joyce Kohler says:

    This painting intrigues me, Marilynn, because it has a kind of 19th century feel about it. It makes me feel nostalgic for the places of my childhood, too, where we used to explore and discover. I’m so glad you have this gallery where I can visit and see your current works.

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

