low hanging fruit

lowhangingfruit.lg

low hanging fruit by brent haddock, hand-colored intaglio-type etching, 8” x 10”, Variable Edition of 5, $180 unframed

My Inspiration

My inspiration for “Low Hanging Fruit” was born with a business discussion about finding the lowest hanging fruit when marketing. This image came to my mind, but it wasn’t at all what my business associates meant. I found humor in the approach and quickly ran to the market to purchase a bosc pear to photograph. This has been a particularly popular etching.

My Working Process

The photograph for this etching was made by hanging a pear on a string in front of black fabric backdrop using natural light in my bathroom. I photographed it from numerous angles. Once I find the best exposure, I print the final composition onto transparency film and expose it to light which transfers it to a copper plate. The plate is hand inked and wiped before it is printed through my etching press. After the final prints are dry, I embellish each one with watercolor.  ~ brent

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

