virginia’s place

virginia’s place by katrina madsen berg, 8×10 oil on wrapped canvas, commission: SOLD

I adore painting to learn about the families, homes, and memories shared within the walls.  But painting these homes for relatives…for me…has been like doing genealogy.  Like meeting family for the first time.  And it is inspiring me to do my geneology and find more!

I’ve already shared this with Julie, but there were moments I felt like I was having a talk with Virginia (the grandma), and other family members who’ve passed on.  I also spent quite a bit of time pondering Julie, her husband Nathan, and his cousins that I already know.  I chose to paint a sunrise background in Nathan’s piece to represent their family rising as the next generation.  Also, a remembrance of the warmth that Nathan’s family who’ve passed on feel for each of them: their love, their protection, watchful eye, and their wisdom. ~ katrina

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

