linda halcomb {may invited artist}

We’re happy to introduce our invited artist for May, Linda Halcomb: 

Linda Halcomb
5420 N Arlington Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46226
317-547-8812
twc3175478812@earthlink.net
http://lindahalcombfineart.wordpress.com/

Don’t all young girls love horses and paper dolls? I know I did. Growing up on a farm in rural Indiana provided the time and solitude to learn the basics of drawing (thank you Walter Foster!) and to use my newly acquired skill to draw frisky, shiny-coated steeds and to create my own paper dolls. Allowance money was precious so I spent Saturdays with the latest Sears catalog designing a modern and quite impressive wardrobe for my latest paper doll. As my interest shifted from horses to boys, I became quite adept at drawing graphite portraits of my current boyfriend.

Late in my high school career life intruded and, caving in to my own insecurities and fears, I decided to pursue a degree in Mathematics from Purdue University. I loved both Art and Mathematics so it did not seem like a sacrifice. After graduation I had a successful business career and was able to paint often enough to maintain a minimum level of skill…but this was not true creativity. I painted from books or calendars following someone else’s lead. In 1994 I started work on my Master’s degree at Indiana University and was forced by long periods of work and study to put aside my brush.

In February, 2007, after twelve years of inactivity, I picked up a brush again. I now paint because I love to paint and I realize that I am just at the beginning of a rewarding and challenging journey. I have so much still to learn. I do however have a philosophy. I do not want to hit the viewer over the head with a message. I just want to share my love of watercolor painting with its pure, luminous color – its brilliance and delicacy. I spend my time creating original work that I hope communicates my love of or interest in my subject matter. I believe Renoir said it best,

“A picture must be an amicable thing, joyous and pretty – yes pretty! There are enough troublesome things in life without inventing others.”

Memberships:
Watercolor Society of Indiana, Chairman – Board of Governor’s Scholarship Program
Hoosier Salon
Indiana Plein Air Painters Association
Southside Art League

Competitions:
2007, 2008, 2009 Will Vawter Exhibition
2007, 2008 Riley Days Festival, Several Awards
2008, 2009 State Fair
2010 Paperchase Juried Competition, Gallery 308

Shows:
Hoosier Salon
Salon de Refuse 2008
Member’s Show 2008, 2009
Holiday Show 2008, 2009
Hancock County Arts & Cultural Council
Historic National Road, Red and Artist’s Choice Exhibits 2007 and 2008
Watercolor Society of Indiana
Regional Show 2007
Member’s Show 2007, 2008, 2009
Eagle Creek Coffee Company 2008
Midday Gourmet Catering & Deli – One Woman Show 2008
LULU’s Electric Cafe – One Woman Show 2008
Barnes & Noble – Clearwater – One Woman Show 2008
GBC Gallery – One woman Show – 2009
Southside Art League of Indiana
Student Show – 3rd Place, 2010
Member’s Show, 2010

Click here to see Linda’s wba archive

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

