female cardinal {watercolor by robert j. johnson}

female cardinal by robert j. johnson, 10 X 14 watercolor on arches 300lb cold press paper , $350 matted, $395 framed

While the male cardinal is considered by most to be the “pretty” one, I prefer the variety of color found on the female cardinal. I did not “mask” the bird but simply wet the paper that wasn’t BIRD, then did all the branches starting with the wet “n” wet sky. I sprinkled salt on the wet sky and created a snowflake appearance. When the background was dry, I painted the cardinal using several rigger brushes and a pallet knife. I have done many birds (including male cardinals). I usually put a bird into my paintings of aspens and challenge you to find them in the clutter of leaves. ~ robert

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

