afternoon at the homestead resort {original oil by jan perkins}


afternoon at the homestead resort by jan perkins, 8×10″ oil, SOLD

This is a plein air painting I did at the Homestead, an historic resort in Midway Utah. I painted this scene as the caterers were setting up for a wedding reception. It’s such a beautiful place, I’ll have to go back there to paint soon! The painting sold at the Annual Kimball Art Center Art Auction in Park City Utah.

Actually I have gone back, several times, to paint this gorgeous summer scene. But every time, just after I’ve set up my easel and have made the first brush strokes, someone from the current wedding party comes over and kicks me out – even before the party starts! I can understand it if I was in the middle of their reception, but no, it’s just solitary me. I guess next time I’ll have to have better timing, or dress up as a wedding guest, or just simply paint really fast and get out of there! It’s a challenge for sure. Anyway… Enjoy! ~ jan

Leave a Reply

  • kent winterton

  • marilynn z. nielson

  • jan perkins

  • robert j. johnson

